Maryland DUI & DWI Defense Lawyer
Avoid Jail & License Suspension – Allow Our DUI Lawyers to Protect Your Record & Future
Whether you’ve been charged with your first DUI/DWI in Maryland or are facing a 2nd or 3rd offense, let our experienced lawyers prevent your future from being impaired. One of the biggest myths about DUI charges in Maryland is that if one fails the breathalyzer and roadside field sobriety tests, he or she will be found guilty. It is important to understand that mistakes and errors during the DUI arrest process do occur that can cause the State to drop the charges, reduce the charges into lesser criminal/non-criminal charges, or lose at trial. With proper legal representation your DUI charge can in fact be overcome, and license loss and jail time can be avoided.
Simply put, never concede to a DUI charge with the assumption that you have no chance to overcome your charges. Let our top-rated and highly experienced DUI lawyers thoroughly evaluate your case at no cost to you. Making the right decision today can prevent your future from being impaired.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol (DUI) in Maryland
DUI (Driving Under Influence) is a more serious crime in Maryland. You can be charged with a DUI offense if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is 0.08% or higher or if it is believed that the alcohol that the driver has consumed has significantly impaired the driver’s normal coordination and judgment abilities.
The maximum penalties for a DUI offense include:
- First Offense: 1 year in jail and up to $1,000 penalty
- Second Offense: 2 years in jail and up to $2,000 penalty
- Third Offense: 3 years in jail and up to $3,000 penalty
Administratively, 12 points will be assessed by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) against your license which can result in a driver’s license revocation.
Also, it is important to understand that the punishment can be enhanced if there is a minor child in the car at the time of the offense. A driver under the age of 21 will violate his age-related license restriction simply by driving with any alcohol in his system.
Driving While Impaired (DWI) in Maryland
On the other hand, you will be charged with a Driving While Impaired (DWI) offense in Maryland if your BAC is between 0.07% and 0.79%. Moreover, even if the BAC is somewhat lower, but other factors lead the arresting officer to believe that your driving ability was affected, DWI charges might still be lodged. The maximum penalties include:
- First Offense: 2 months jail and up to $500 penalty
- Second Offense: 1 year jail and up to $500 penalty
- Third Offense: 3 years jail and up to $3000 penalty
Administratively, 8 points are marked against your license which can result in a driver’s license suspension.
Rely Upon Our Decades of Experience and Influence
We realize that the only thing between a DUI charge and our clients’ freedom and future is our work product. Every DUI case that our law firm undertakes is a personal challenge where failure is not an option. Each case is examined in detail where we look for any facts that we can use to win your case. Our lawyers have successfully resolved hundreds of DUI cases, and are ready to use our experience and influence to win yours.
Call Right Now to Discuss Your DUI/DWI Charges at No Cost
If you’d like to discuss the details of your case and learn how we can help you, please call us today for a free consultation at (410) 783-9230; or E-mail us. We offer fair fees, and serve the Baltimore & Pikesville areas and and all of Maryland. Rest assured that any information provided to us is completely confidential. We look forward to helping you, as we have for hundreds of others.